Claim:   The Subway sandwich chain has stopped serving ham and bacon due to pressure from Muslims.


TRUE: Some Subway restaurants tailor to local customs and do not serve pork products.
FALSE: All restaurants in the Subway sandwich chain have stopped serving pork products.

Example:   [Collected via e-mail, May 2014]

Heard on Facebook that Muslims have gotten Subway to remove pork products from their menu.


Origins:   Founded in Connecticut in 1965, the Subway sandwich chain has expanded to more than 41,000 locations in over 100 countries. Since 2007, Subway’s corporate policy

has been to permit menu item substitutions in areas where the local customer base follows dietary restrictions. In India, many franchises substitute lamb and chicken items for beef and pork throughout their menus, and some do not sell any meat products at all. In the United States, Subway has several kosher franchises that do not carry pork products or serve dairy with meat.

In the United Kingdom and Ireland, fewer than 200 out of 1,500 Subway sandwich franchises conform to Muslim dietary restrictions: their meat suppliers are certified halal, and no pork products are used. Instead, those locations use turkey products to substitute for ham and bacon. Halal stores are clearly identified by signs throughout, including on the menu panels and in the front windows.

There are currently no halal Subway franchises in the United States.

Last updated:   24 September 2015


    Fishkoff, Sue.   “Eat Fresh, Eat Kosher: Subway the Largest U.S. Kosher Restaurant Chain.”

    Jewish Telegraphic Agency.   5 August 2009.

    Poulter, Sean.

    “Subway Removes Ham & Bacon From Nearly 200 Stores and

      Offers Halal Meat Only After ‘Strong Demand’ from Muslims.”

    The Daily Mail.   30 April 2014.

    Unnithan, Chitra.   “US Food Giants Turn Vegetarian in Gujarat.”

    The Times of India.   6 March 2013.