News

This story is developing

Live Updates: Jan. 6 Capitol Riots Fact Checks

Violence broke out and a mob breached the perimeter in Washington, D.C., as Congress began the presidential electoral vote count.

Published Jan 6, 2021

WASHINGTON, DC - JANUARY 06: Supporters of U.S. President Donald Trump fly a U.S. flag with a symbol from the group QAnon as they gather outside the U.S. Capitol January 06, 2021 in Washington, DC. Congress will hold a joint session today to ratify President-elect Joe Biden's 306-232 Electoral College win over President Donald Trump. A group of Republican senators have said they will reject the Electoral College votes of several states unless Congress appointed a commission to audit the election results. (Photo by Win McNamee/Getty Images)

On Jan. 6, 2021, Congress began the electoral process to count votes for the president of the United States. Journalists on the ground reported that the U.S. Capitol Building was in lockdown, and that Trump-supporting rioters had broken down barriers. This liveblog will be updated when news comes in.


Jump to see each story:


Refresh this page for updates.
 

Fact Check: Were Requests to Deploy National Guard Initially Denied?

9:13pm ET/6:13pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1347003465986428928
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did Trump Say He Loved Capitol Mob?

8:55pm ET/5:55pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346998949048176647
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did Rudy Giuliani Call for a 'Trial by Combat'?

8:49pm ET/5:49pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346997327240835074
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did Police Munitions Light Up the Capitol During Riots?

8:39pm ET/5:39pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346994814026305538
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did Twitter Temporarily Ban Trump?

8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346992636683546629
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Does Video Show Capitol Police Opening Gates for Rioters?

8:15pm ET/5:15pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346988690187431937
Back to top

 

News: Former President Barack Obama Reacts to Capitol Violence

7:56pm ET/4:56pm PT
https://twitter.com/BarackObama/status/1346983894298595330
Back to top

 

News: Stephanie Grisham, Chief of Staff for Melania Trump, Resigns

7:31pm ET/4:31pm PT
https://twitter.com/cnnbrk/status/1346977769989791744
Back to top

 

News: West Virginia Lawmaker Among Rioters in Capitol

7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346977361078599683
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did Apple Block Directions to US Capitol?

7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346977363796455426
Back to top

 

News: RNC Releases Statement on Capitol Violence

7:22pm ET/4:22pm PT
https://twitter.com/ABC/status/1346975518139310092
Back to top

 

News: VP Press Sec Says Pence Has Returned to Senate

7:12pm ET/4:12pm PT
https://twitter.com/VPPressSec/status/1346972967817924608
Back to top

 

News: Capitol Has Seen Violence over 220 Years, But Not Like This

7:01pm ET/4:01pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346970067448320001
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Does Pic Show National Guard Troops Protecting Lincoln Memorial During BLM Protests?

6:56pm ET/3:56pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346968978225303552
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did Trump Threaten to Prosecute Anyone Who Damaged Federal Buildings?

6:49pm ET/3:49pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346967063546523648
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Do Photos Show Guns Drawn in US House Chamber?

6:44pm ET/3:44pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346965983055941632
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Was a Noose Hung Across from the US Capitol?

6:35pm ET/3:35pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346963674578227200
Back to top

 

News: Speaker Pelosi Says "We Should Proceed Tonight"

6:29pm ET/3:29pm PT
https://twitter.com/grace_panetta/status/1346962075424210946?s=20
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did Georgia Poll Workers Hide ‘Suitcases’ of Ballots From Republican Observers?

6:14pm ET/3:14pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346958259723395080
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did Trump Tell Supporters to Storm US Capitol on Jan. 6, 2021?

6:11pm ET/3:11pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346957638853152769
Back to top

 

News: Former President George W. Bush Issues Statement

5:58pm ET/2:58pm PT
https://twitter.com/AaronBlake/status/1346954338636242946
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Does a Photo Show Rioter Snatching a Podium in the US Capitol?

5:53pm ET/2:53pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346952945179521032
Back to top

 

News: NBC News Reports Woman Killed at Capitol

5:48pm ET/2:48pm PT
https://twitter.com/MSNBC/status/1346951791473164288
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did Pence Unfollow Trump on Twitter Following Jan. 6 DC Riots?

5:47pm ET/2:47pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346951572824104963
Back to top

 

News: Facebook VP of Integrity Confirms Removal of Trump Video

5:43pm ET/2:43pm PT
https://twitter.com/guyro/status/1346950532372393985
Back to top

 

News: Update on Capitol Security

5:34pm ET/2:34pm PT
https://twitter.com/MEPFuller/status/1346948406179057665
Back to top

 

News: Hillary Clinton Tweets on Capitol Violence

5:31pm ET/2:31pm PT
https://twitter.com/HillaryClinton/status/1346947444664369152
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did Rioters Break into US Capitol Using American Flagpole?

5:15pm ET/2:15pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346943549971996672
Back to top

 

News: VP-elect Kamala Harris Tweets about Violence

5:11pm ET/2:11pm PT
https://twitter.com/KamalaHarris/status/1346942453241274370
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Was the Confederate Flag Raised at the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C.?

5:06pm ET/2:06pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346941180823613445
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Can Veep Play the ‘Pence Card’ and Reject US Election Results?

5:02pm ET/2:02pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346940176057176069
Back to top

 

Voter Fraud Rumors Stories

https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346937894141886467
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did Ivanka Trump Call a Capitol-Storming Mob 'Patriots'?

4:43pm ET/1:43pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346935516529385472
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Were Shots Fired Inside Capitol During Electoral Count Riots?

4:40pm ET/1:40pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346934584462761985
Back to top

 

News: Rep. Ilhan Omar Calls for Trump Impeachment

4:38pm ET/1:38pm PT
https://twitter.com/IlhanMN/status/1346934098384793606
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Was Pence Rushed out of Capitol?

4:22pm ET/1:22pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346930057969885185
Back to top

 

News: Trump Posts Video on Social Media

4:17pm ET/1:17pm PT
https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1346928882595885058
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did an Antifa Flyer Tell ‘Comrades’ to Pose as Trump Supporters and Riot After Election Day?

https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346927961337954304
Back to top

 

News: President-elect Biden Addresses Capitol Violence

4:07pm ET/1:07pm PT
https://twitter.com/NBCNews/status/1346926331842461709
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Was a Cross Erected in Front of Capitol Building at Jan. 6 Protests?

3:58pm ET/12:58pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346924024090275842
Back to top

 

AP: National Guard, federal police en route

3:52pm ET/12:52pm PT
https://twitter.com/AP/status/1346922637935714305
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Were Pro-Trump Mobs Storming the Capitol on Jan. 6 Actually Antifa?

3:49pm ET/12:49pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346921753801596931
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Did Sinclair Lewis Say This about Fascism in America?

https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346920716172578816
Back to top

 

Fact Check: 50,000 Ballots Suspiciously Appeared in Georgia?

3:37pm ET/12:37pm PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346918732619243523
Back to top

 

News: VP Pence Tweets about Capitol Violence

3:35pm ET/12:35pm PT
https://twitter.com/Mike_Pence/status/1346918219991420928
https://twitter.com/Mike_Pence/status/1346918222432374785
Back to top

 

News: Rioter Photographed in Chamber

2:47pm ET/11:47am PT
https://twitter.com/igorbobic/status/1346906369232920576
Back to top

 

News: U.S. Capitol Building on Lockdown

2:37pm ET/11:37am PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346903727169409024
Back to top

 

News: VP Pence Rushed off Floor

2:07pm ET/11:07am PT
https://twitter.com/MeetThePress/status/1346898146446761994
Back to top

 

Fact Check: Does This Photo Show a Crowded MAGA Demonstration?

11:53am ET/9:53am PT
https://twitter.com/snopes/status/1346862426273280002
Back to top

Article Tags

Become
a Member

Your membership is the foundation of our sustainability and resilience.

Perks

Ad-Free Browsing on Snopes.com
Members-Only Newsletter
Cancel Anytime
default