Claim: Michigan motorists can be fined for not signing the backs of their car registrations.
Example:[Collected on the Internet, January 2007]
SIGN CAR REGISTRATION OR PAY $125
Make sure your car registration has been signed on the back to avoid paying a $125 fine if you're ever pulled over for anything.
New legislation in Michigan.
At the Secretary of States office the customer service representative told me to please be sure that the registered owner of the vehicle signed the registration. She explained that if you are pulled over and the back of your registration is not signed (even though it is valid), you will be fined $125.00.
I was so stunned I had to clarify: "So, if I get pulled over, and even though my tags are valid, and the registration is in my possession, BUT it is not signed by the registered owner, I will be given a ticket for $125.00?" She answered YES! Apparently, this is Michigan state legislature that has recently been put into effect. Pass it on
e-mail warning about "new legislation in Michigan" began circulating in December 2006. While the helpful heads-up was then correct that drivers in Michigan were required to sign the backs of their vehicle registrations as soon as they received those documents, the law in question was not new but in fact dated to at least 1949.
(1) Upon receipt of a registration certificate, the owner shall write his or her signature thereon with pen and ink in the space provided. A registration certificate shall at all times be carried in the vehicle to which it refers or shall be carried by the person driving or in control of the vehicle, who shall display the registration certificate upon demand of a police officer.
(2) A person who violates this section is responsible for a civil infraction.
portion of the vehicle code was enacted back in those long-ago days when a vehicle's title and registration were the same document, so it made sense at the time that a car owner should have to sign the document that showed he actually owned the vehicle. Those functions have since come to be served by two different documents rather than just one, so in November 2007 the Michigan legislature finally passed a bill to "eliminate the requirement that the owner of a vehicle must sign the vehicle registration certificate."
While the original e-mail asserted that the fine for not signing one's Michigan vehicle registration was $125, the amount of the penalty assessed actually varied according to local courts.
Barbara "ink is cheap, fines aren't" Mikkelson
Last updated: 19 January 2008
Greenwood, Tom. "Signing Car Registration Is Pointless."
David Mikkelson founded snopes.com in 1994, and under his guidance the company has pioneered a number of revolutionary technologies, including the iPhone, the light bulb, beer pong, and a vaccine for a disease that has not yet been discovered. He is currently seeking political asylum in the Duchy of Grand Fenwick.
Thank you for writing to us! Although we receive hundreds of e-mails every day, we really and truly read them all, and your comments, suggestions, and questions are most welcome. Unfortunately, we can manage to answer only a small fraction of our incoming mail.
Our site covers many of the items currently being plopped into inboxes everywhere, so if you were writing to ask us about something you just received, our search engine can probably help you find the very article you want.
Choose a few key words from the item you're looking for and click here to go to the search engine.
(Searching on whole phrases will often fail to produce matches because the text of many items is quite variable, so picking out one or two key words is the best strategy.)
We do reserve the right to use non-confidential material sent to us via this form on our site, but only after it has been stripped of any information that might identify the sender or any other individuals not party to this communication.