E-mail this page E-mail this




2011 California Traffic Ticket Fines

Claim:   List details fines for violations of California vehicle codes taking effect in 2011.

MIXTURE

Example:   [Collected via e-mail, January 2011]

HUGE California Traffic Tickets Fines California State
Effective 01/06/2011

Please be extremely careful in your driving and car registration & insurance matters. State of California is broke and they are trying hard to squeeze all of us hard to collect money.

Effective immediately, if you do not stop at the red light, be ready to pay $436 in fines or if you pass a school bus with flashing red signals, you will be charged $616. The state of California is going for blood, so be extra careful in driving, You cannot afford messing with them. I have been hearing that Highway Patrols are under pressure to issue a lot more tickets than last year with at least 30% increase in fines over 2009, so beware of radar guns, highway and traffic cameras installed everywhere and the tougher enforcement of parking rules.

Just for your info, the next time you park in the handicapped zone, even for a minute, you will be looking at almost $1000 in parking tickets, so it'd better be worth it. California needs money, so pay close attention to the rules of the road!

Traffic Ticket Fines (Effective 01/06/2011)

VC 12814.6 $214 Failure to obey license provisions.
VC 14600(A) $214 Failure to notify DMV of address change within 10 days
Note: The fine may be reduced with valid proof of correction.
VC 16028(A) $796 Failure to provide evidence of financial responsibility (insurance)
Note: This fine may be reduced with proof of insurance on or after the violation date.
VC 21453(A) $436 Failure to stop at a red signal.
VC 22349 $214 Unsafe speed, 1 to 15 miles over the limit.
VC 22350 $328 Unsafe speed, 16 to 25 miles over the limit.
VC 22450 $214 Failure to stop at a stop sign.
VC 22454(A) $616 Passing a school bus with flashing red signals.
VC 23123(A) $148 Driving while using a wireless phone not hands free, first offense.
I know someone who got this and it ending up being $274
VC 23123(B) $256 Driving while using a wireless phone not hands free, each subsequent offense.
VC 23123.5 $148 Driving while using a wireless device to send, read or write text.
VC 23124 $148 Minor driving while using a wireless phone.
VC 22500 $976 Parking in a bus loading area.
VC 22507(A) $976 Violation of disabled parking provisions, first offense.
VC 22507(B) $1876 Violation of disabled parking provisions, second offense.
VC 26708 $178 Unlawful material on vehicle windows.
VC 27150 $178 Adequate muffler required.
VC 27315 $148 Mandatory use of seat belts.
VC 27360 $436 Mandatory use of passenger child restraints.
Note: This fine may be reduced by completing a court authorized child seat diversion program.
VC 27400 $178 Headsets or Earplugs covering both ears.
VC 27803 $178 Violation of motorcycle safety helmet requirements.
VC 34506 $616 Commercial Driver - Log book violation.
VC 4000 $256 No evidence of current registration.
Note: The fine may be reduced with valid proof of correction.
VC 4159 $178 Notify DMV of change of address within 10 days.
Note: The fine may be reduced with valid proof of correction.
VC 5200 $178 Proper display of license plates.
Note: The fine may be reduced with valid proof of correction.
VC 9400 $178 Commercial weight fees due.
Note: The fine may be reduced with valid proof of correction.

Look out for the money grabbers in Sacramento but don’t blame the cops. They don't set the fines or collect them!

 

Origins:   Attempting to definitively state what the fine is for any particular violation of the vehicle code in California is problematic because such costs can vary from county to county. Although the state sets a Traffic Infraction Bail and Penalty Schedule which counties must adhere to in assessing penalties for violations of the vehicle code, 30 counties (including Los Angeles County) are allowed to exceed the "Total Bail" amounts specified therein. As well, a bewildering array of additional penalties, fees, and assessments may be imposed at either the state or county level:
The "Total Bail" amount indicated includes the base bail and those "additional penalties" required by Penal Code section 1464 and Government Code sections 70372, 76000, 76104.6, and 76104.7; and the 20 percent surcharge on the base bail required by Penal Code section 1465.7, except as provided in Vehicle Code section 42007. When authorized by the county board of supervisors, the "Total Bail" for a countywide bail schedule adopted under Penal Code section 1269b may also include an additional $2 penalty under Government Code section 76000.5 for every $10, or part of $10, of the base fine. Any other "assessment" adopted by a court — such as the assessment for "Night Court" (Vehicle Code section 42006) and "Administrative Assessments" (Vehicle Code section 40508.6) — shall be collected in addition to the "Total Bail." The court security fee imposed per convicted offense under Penal Code section 1465.8 (Sen. Bill 857; Stats. 2010, ch. 720) and criminal conviction assessment under Government Code section 70373 are also collected in addition to the "Total Bail." For every conviction of a violation of the Vehicle Code, or ordinance adopted under the Vehicle Code, committed on or after January 1, 2011, a $4 EMS penalty is imposed under Government Code section 76000.10(c)(1) as part of the "Total Bail." (Assem. Bill 2173; Stats. 2010, ch. 547.) Penal Code section 1202.4(b)(1) requires a minimum $100 restitution fine as an assessment in addition to the "Total Bail" in every case where there is a misdemeanor conviction. Other mandatory assessments may also be applicable, especially in DUI cases.
That said, the item quoted above provides a reasonably close approximation of the fines for various infractions of the California vehicle code as of January 2011, although none of the referenced violations represents a new law taking effect in 2011, and the listed penalty amounts are mostly modest increases over the 2010 levels:
  • VC 12814.6 Failure to obey license provisions:
    2010 Fine: $146
    2011 Fine: $154
  • VC 14600(A) Failure to notify DMV of address change (for driver's license) within 10 days:
    2010 Fine: $146
    2011 Fine: $154
  • VC 16028(A) Failure to provide evidence of financial responsibility (insurance):
    2010 Fine: $766
    2011 Fine: $800
  • VC 21453(A) Failure to stop at a red signal:
    2010 Fine: $380
    2011 Fine: $400
  • VC 22349 Unsafe speed, 1 to 15 miles over the limit:
    2010 Fine: $146
    2011 Fine: $154
  • VC 22350 Unsafe speed, 16 to 25 miles over the limit:
    2010 Fine: $266
    2011 Fine: $280
  • VC 22450 Failure to stop at a stop sign:
    2010 Fine: $146
    2011 Fine: $154
  • VC 22454(A) Passing a school bus with flashing red signals:
    2010 Fine: $570
    2011 Fine: $600
  • VC 23123(A) Driving while using a wireless phone not hands free, first offense:
    2010 Fine: $76
    2011 Fine: $80
  • VC 23123.5 Driving while using a wireless device to send, read or write text:
    2010 Fine: $76
    2011 Fine: $80
  • VC 23124 Minor driving while using a wireless phone:
    2010 Fine: $76
    2011 Fine: $80
  • VC 22500 Parking in a bus loading area:
    2010 Fine: $950
    2011 Fine: $1,000
  • VC 22507(A) Violation of disabled parking provisions, first offense:
    2010 Fine: $950
    2011 Fine: $1,000
  • VC 26708 Unlawful material on vehicle windows:
    2010 Fine: $108
    2011 Fine: $114
  • VC 27150 Adequate muffler required:
    2010 Fine: $108
    2011 Fine: $114
  • VC 27315 Mandatory use of seat belts:
    2010 Fine: $76
    2011 Fine: $80
  • VC 27360 Mandatory use of passenger child restraints:
    2010 Fine: $380
    2011 Fine: $400
  • VC 27400 Headsets or earplugs covering both ears:
    2010 Fine: $108
    2011 Fine: $114
  • VC 27803 Violation of motorcycle safety helmet requirements:
    2010 Fine: $108
    2011 Fine: $114
  • VC 34506 Commercial Driver - Log book violation:
    2010 Fine: $570
    2011 Fine: $600
  • VC 4000 No evidence of current registration:
    2010 Fine: $190
    2011 Fine: $200
  • VC 4159 Notify DMV of change of address (for vehicle registration) within 10 days:
    2010 Fine: $108
    2011 Fine: $114
  • VC 5200 Proper display of license plates:
    2010 Fine: $108
    2011 Fine: $114
  • VC 9400 Commercial weight fees due:
    2010 Fine: $108
    2011 Fine: $114
As always, the California Highway Patrol maintains that it does not issue citations based on any form of a quota system.

Last updated:   18 January 2011

Urban Legends Reference Pages © 1995-2014 by snopes.com.
This material may not be reproduced without permission.
snopes and the snopes.com logo are registered service marks of snopes.com.