Thank you for writing to us! Although we receive hundreds of e-mails every day, we really and truly read them all, and your comments, suggestions, and questions are most welcome. Unfortunately, we can manage to answer only a small fraction of our incoming mail.
Our site covers many of the items currently being plopped into inboxes everywhere, so if you were writing to ask us about something you just received, our search engine can probably help you find the very article you want.
Choose a few key words from the item you're looking for and click here to go to the search engine.
(Searching on whole phrases will often fail to produce matches because the text of many items is quite variable, so picking out one or two key words is the best strategy.)
We do reserve the right to use non-confidential material sent to us via this form on our site, but only after it has been stripped of any information that might identify the sender or any other individuals not party to this communication.
Claim: A bill passed by the Texas legislature will outlaw using a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle as of 1 September 2003.
Example:[Collected on the Internet, 2003]
I just received this information from the Harris County Medical Society regarding usage of cell phones in the car. Please make note of the changes in the Texas laws.
Origins: It is true that a bill proposing a state law to ban the use of telephones by persons who are simultaneously operating motor vehicles (unless the phone is of a "hands-free" type) was submitted to the Texas House of Representatives in December 2002. The text of the bill, HB 281, read as follows:
BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
SECTION 1. Subchapter I, Chapter 545, Transportation Code, is amended by adding Section 545.425 to read as follows:
Sec. 545.425. USE OF TELEPHONE; OFFENSE.
(a) An operator may not use a telephone while operating a motor vehicle unless:
(1) the vehicle is stopped; or
(2) the telephone is used without use of either of the operator's hands.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $25 or more than $100.
SECTION 2. This Act takes effect September 1, 2003.
However, this bill has not been enacted as law. It was sent to committee in March 2003 and was never passed or voted upon. Moreover, since the regular session of the Texas legislature has since ended, this bill would have to be resubmitted (and passed) during the next regular session in order to become law.
Some people have become misled through reading Section 2 of the bill, which states "This Act takes effect September 1, 2003," and therefore mistakenly believe this legislation will be in force as of that date. The provision for a September 1 effective date only applied if HB 281 was passed by the Texas legislature. Since this bill never passed, the September 1 effective date does not apply. Texas drivers may continue to use cell phones in their cars for the forseeable future.