Origins: Sometimes the most innocuous of foodstuffs contain constituents whose origins are less than appetizing. Such is the case with
The production of gelatin starts with the boiling of bones, skins, and hides of cows and pigs, a process that releases the protein-rich collagen from animal tissues. The collagen is boiled and filtered numerous times, dried, and ground to a powder. Because the collagen is processed extensively, the final product is not categorized as a meat or animal product by the federal government. Very strict vegetarians avoid gelatin entirely, but more permissive vegetarians have no problem including
JELL-O products account for about
Popular belief has it that gelatin comes from horses' and cows' hooves. Kraft, the maker of
Barbara "hoof beating the rap" Mikkelson
Last updated: 20 February 2007
Palmer, Jane. "Making an Impression." Omaha World-Herald. 27 March 2002 (p. E1). Randall, Laura. "The 'JELL-O Molding' of America." The Christian Science Monitor. 23 July 1992 (Food, p. 14). Sherman, Chris and Debbie Wolfe. "When They Invented JELL-O They Broke the Mold." St. Petersburg Times. 9 May 1991 (p. D1).